The Beginning of Schemes

So, about two weeks ago, I started a blog on Blogger.  However, I have learned that I’m not too fond of that particular interface… I don’t know why, but WordPress suits my fancy more.  It’s true that I’ve never truly blogged before, but I have had some experience with WordPress through a failed attempt at blogging (read this as putting up two pictures then scrapping the idea).

Anyhow, that’s the main reason I’m here now – I feel the need and desire to blog, and I like this format a bit more.  And what shall I blog about?  Well…

First off, my name’s Rachel.  I’m 19 years old and a college student working towards a bs biology degree.  Pre-med track.  My days are continually filled with reading about different biological processes in the body, as well as related chemistry topics.  I also fancy myself as a writer, but at the moment I struggle to find the time and energy to work on plot development for my self published novel’s sequel.

But probably more relevant to this blog, I’m obsessed with Ireland.

Back in 2011, my family and I went on a 10 day vacation in Ireland.  It was the best experience I’ve ever had, and truly changed me.  I went from being someone who never expected to travel, to someone that yearned to be abroad more than anything. I still spend most of my days dreaming about returning back to Ireland, spending more time exploring the countryside and some of the different sights to be had.

You see, for the first time in my life, I felt like I belonged somewhere.  It’s not to say my family doesn’t love me, believe me, I know they do.  But my mannerisms are quite different from most people in my community, both hometown and collegetown.  And while we were there, some of my little ticks that make me look like a weirdo here actually made me fit in over there, to the point another foreigner came up to me in Dublin and asked for directions because he thought I was a local.

Since 2011, I’ve graduated high school and completed my first year of college.  I’ve made new friends, become more certain in my chosen field, and never stopped dreaming.  Some people have even forbidden Ireland to be mentioned in a conversation around me, just because of how twitchy I get.  In secret, I planned on saving up and disappearing for a few weeks before entering medical school.

But then Chy, my dorm neighbor and sister in many ways, prompted after I prattle one day, “Then why don’t we go the summer after graduation?”

We began plotting.  I graduate in December 2015, she graduates May 2016, assuming her recent major change from pre-vet to equestrian studies doesn’t force her to stay an extra semester.  June 2016 has become our goal.  My mother has even agreed that we should do it, though she requests we not mention it around too many people.

Chy and I have started picking out different places we want to see, and we’ve decided to give each other different jobs as well.  She will be taking care of things such as driving, and she feels the need to mother me.  I’m in charge of all things money.  It’s up to me to set a budget for our travels and figure out exactly how long we’ll be able to stay.  Her boyfriend is planning on joining us on this trip, serving as our driver.

In this blog, I’ll be tracking our progress and gathering details about the different places we’ll be visiting.  First up will be Dublin, where we’ll begin our travels.

Here’s to planning!

One thought on “The Beginning of Schemes

  1. Pingback: Two Stacks (an overdue update) – Irish Dreams

Leave a Reply

